A VISUAL DIARY

Chad Sayers

Hitchhikers.

If you travel to and from Whistler by car you see them often thumbing a ride on Hwy 99 hoping to catch a free lift. I’ve done it myself. Years ago I accidentally skied out to Creekside instead of the Village. The Gondola was shut down and I had no money to catch the bus. No choice but to hitchhike. I got picked up almost immediately and enjoyed a friendly chat with a local. As it turned out, it was a far better experience than I expected.
In the years since, I’ve offered hitchhikers a ride as a way to ‘pay it forward’. This past weekend I was driving north along Hwy 99 just past Village Gate Blvd (the main entrance to the Village) and spotted this guy ‘thumbing.’ I recognized him right away. I pulled over to the shoulder and asked him where he was going,
“Meadow Park” he said.
“I can take you there, jump in!” I replied.
Truth be told, I would have driven him to Pemberton just to have a conversation with a world renowned athlete and skiing legend. His skiing has graced many magazine covers, ski movies and even the Wall Street Journal.

After a great morning skiing Blackcomb, this chance encounter was a fitting way to end the day and this is why I love Whistler.

To view photos and videos of Chad visit his blog, Chad Sayers Travel Corp.

Leave a Reply

